Iran Visa General Information

Iran Visa for Non-Citizens:

According to Iran’s consular regulations, visa applicants must apply through an approved travel agent (ShahrAein), in order to obtain a visa authorization number. Contrary to popular belief, this is a very straight forward procedure and our visa specialists apply for dozens of visas every month.

How it works:

After the initial contact and receiving your information, we will apply to the ministry of foreign affairs on your behalf. The MFA will then process your application. Upon approval, we will fax the authorization number to an Iranian embassy near you or one of the Iranian embassies around the world if you’re not currently at home. The rest is a matter of paper work at your preferred embassy and filling a couple of forms before the visa is placed in your passport.
The authorization process varies based on the nationality of applicant. For example, the Americans should allow 30 to 35 days, British and Canadian citizens 20 days and other nationalities between 7 to 14 days, for the application to be processed.

How to apply:

1. Fill in the application form and email it to us.
2. Upload a scanned copy of your passport information page with at least 6
months validity. (Max size: 100 kb)

This is all you need to apply for your Iranian Visa. For Visa Fees please refer to our Visa Fee page here. Please be advised that, should you book a sight-seeing tour with us, we will waive the visa fee.

*Visa rules are different for US citizens, if you’re an American national and would like to apply for an Iranian visa, please continue reading.

Iran visa for Americans

In addition to the normal visa regulations and required documentation, US citizens must have an MFA-approved guide to accompany them for the entire trip and must have an exact itinerary. This generally precludes crossing into Iran at any border, as your guide would have to meet you at the border (Airport). US citizens can apply for a visa at the Iranian Interest Section of the Pakistani Embassy in Washington. To get the visa, US citizens must work in advance with an approved Iranian travel agency (ShahrAein) to set up a guided itinerary; only then, that travel agency may apply for a visa authorization number from the Iranian Ministry of Foreign Affairs (MFA). Once approved, the authorization number is transmitted to the interest section.
We process dozens of visas for our American guests on a monthly basis and we have made everything easy, all we need from you is the information and we’ll take care of the rest, such as your detailed itinerary and your authorization number.
Should you require further information, please don’t hesitate to contact our visa specialist at

Iran Visa on Arrival:

A valid passport and a visa are required for the citizens of most countries for travel through Iran. Although since 2006, the rules have been eased and VOA has become available for certain nationalities.

VOAs are issued at the selected airports in Iran. These airports are Imam Khomeini in Tehran, and the International airports of Mashhad, Shiraz, Tabriz and Isfahan ONLY. The visa is valid for up to 14 days and costs 50 Euros (plus 10 Euros for each companion in your passport). You will receive the forms on arrival. You are advised to present the following documents:

  1. A valid passport with at least 6 months of validity.
  2. 1-by-1-inch square pictures
  3. A form which must be completed by the applicant at the airport.

Visas are issued at the above mentioned airports for the following nationalities:

Albania, Armenia, Austria, Australia, Bahrain, Belarus, Belgium, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, China, Colombia, Croatia, Cuba, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Kazakhstan, Democratic People’s Republic of Korea, Republic of Korea, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Lebanon, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Mexico, Moldova, Mongolia, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Norway, Oman, Palestine, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Romania, Russian Federation, Saudi Arabia, Singapore , Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland , Tajikistan, Thailand, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, Uzbekistan, Venezuela, Vietnam.

  • Citizens of Syria, Turkey, Malaysia and the Republic of Azerbaijan do NOT require a visa to enter Iran.
  • Visas on arrival are extendable for up to 14 days but this extension is not guaranteed. We strongly recommend that you apply for a normal tourist visa (valid for 3 months) at an Iranian embassy thorough our Visa services if you intend to stay longer than 14 days.